Swiss contribution (enlargement contribution) to selected EU states

Water treatment plant

Through its enlargement contribution, Switzerland has been helping to reduce economic and social disparities in the European Union (EU) since 2007.

Switzerland’s contribution is an investment in Europe’s security, stability and prosperity. At the same time, Switzerland is establishing an important basis for solid economic and political relations with the EU and partner countries. On 3 December 2019, Parliament approved the framework credits for a second Swiss contribution to selected EU member states. Parliament criticises, however, the EU’s discrimination against Switzerland with regard to the stock exchange equivalence. It therefore decided that no commitments would be entered into with respect to the framework credits if and for as long as the EU applies discriminatory measures against Switzerland.

Map Swiss enlargement contribution


Second Swiss contribution

  • 03.12.2019: Approval by Parliament of cohesion and migration framework credits
  • 28.09.2018: Adoption of dispatch by the Federal Council

Contribution to the enlarged EU

  • 07.12.2019: Completion of implementation in Bulgaria and Romania
  • 31.12.2017: Completion of EU10 project implementation
  • 30.06.2015: Signing of the bilateral framework agreement with Croatia
  • 11.12.2014: Approval by Parliament of the framework credit for Croatia (CHF 45m)
  • 01.07.2013: EU accession of Croatia
  • 07.09.2010: Signing of the bilateral framework agreements with Bulgaria and Romania
  • 07.12.2009: Approval by Parliament of the framework credit for Bulgaria and Romania (CHF 257m)
  • 20.12.2007: Signing of the bilateral framework agreements with the EU10
  • 01.01.2007: EU accession of Bulgaria and Romania
  • 14.06.2007: Approval by Parliament of the framework credit for the EU10 (CHF 1bn)
  • 26.11.2006: Adoption by the Swiss electorate of the Federal Act on Cooperation with the States of Eastern Europe as legal basis (53.4% in favour); entry into force: 1 June 2007, expires after 10 years
  • 01.05.2004: EU accession of the EU10 (Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia)