Visa for Switzerland - Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Diese Seite ist nicht auf Deutsch übersetzt. Bitte wählen Sie Ihre bevorzugte Sprache aus:

Lokale News, 06.08.2021

Various regulations apply for entering Switzerland. A basic distinction is made between citizens of the European Union (EU) and European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries and those of other countries. The State Secretariat for Migration (SEM) is the responsible authority in Switzerland.

On 18th March 2020, the Swiss Federal Council has decided to suspend the issuance of  Schengen visas for Switzerland to citizens of third countries. Those restrictions have partly been eased, and since 23rd June 2021 the following regulations apply:

Schengen Visa C applications for short stays (i.e. under 90 days) will only be authorized in cases of absolute necessity. Tourism doesn’t fall under this category.

However, beside the regular entry conditions, third country nationals may travel to Switzerland provided that they can present a certificate according to which they have been fully vaccinated, with 

  1. vaccine authorized by the competent Swiss authority, in accordance with the recommendations of the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH); or
  2. vaccine authorized by the European Medicines Agency for the European Union, in accordance with the requirements or recommendations of the country in which the vaccination was carried out; or
  3. vaccine that figures on the list of  WHO, in accordance with requirements or recommendations of the country in which the vaccination was carried out.

Sputnik V, QazVac and Hayat-Vax do not figure on the list of the WHO of approved vaccines and do therefore not allow an entry into Switzerland.

Entry restrictions continue to apply to foreign nationals who are not vaccinated and are without rights of free movement.

On 6th July 2020 all COVID-19 related restrictions on the admission for long stays (more than 90 days) for third-country citizens were lifted. Such stays must be authorized by the competent cantonal migration office in advance.

Normal entry requirements will apply again to all citizens of a Schengen state, to persons with rights of free movement and to third-country nationals who do not require a visa and are already legally resident in the Schengen area.

All foreign nationals who are already holders of a Swiss residency permit, a cross border permit or of a legitimation card, can still enter Switzerland upon presentation of their valid residency permit. Swiss citizens can enter Switzerland at any time.

For additional information, please consult the webpage of the State Secretariat for Migration (SEM).

Sanitary measures at Swiss borders

For persons who are authorized to enter Switzerland:

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, there are special rules for entering Switzerland. Please refer to the information of the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH).

For instance, in certain cases, a negative PCR test is required.

In addition, there is a mandatory registration of data for air travellers

Appointments for the issuance of visas

The VFS Global visa centers in Nur-Sultan and Almaty will re-open on 21st July 2021. The visa section of the Swiss Embassy in Nur-Sultan remains open. However, visas at the Embassy's counter will  be provided exclusively when an appointment has been agreed upon in advance. As before, the Embassy can be reached over the telephone or by Email: