COVID-19: New Government Measures

Position, 09.03.2021

In order to curb the spread of COVID-19, the Iraqi government decided to extend the nationwide curfew until 22 March 2021.

A total lockdown shall be imposed on the weekends (Friday, Saturday, and Sunday), while a curfew will be in place from 8 p.m. to 5 a.m. 

Travellers from all nationalities can enter Iraq with a valid visa and a negative result of a PCR-test for COVID-19 taken within 72 hours before arrival. 

Nationals of the following countries and regardless of their place of residency who are entering Iraq have to comply with the above mentioned regulations and will additionally be subject to a 14-day home quarantine until a negative PCR-test result has been received.

  • Austria
  • Australia
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • South Africa
  • Slovakia
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom
  • USA
  • Zambia

The Embassy urges its citizens to observe the hygiene recommendations of the WHO, practice social distancing and follow the instructions of the authorities and abide by the measures taken.

For further information:

FDFA Travel Advice, Focus Coronavirus (2019-nCoV)

Recommendations by the Swiss Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH)

FAQ of the FDFA