Swiss cooperation with the UN RBA's

UN FAO Headquarter Building with many flags of different countries.
UN FAO Headquarters in Rome © FDFA

In 2009 the Committee went through a comprehensive reform process with the goal of increasing its efficiency by including a wider group of stakeholders, including civil society, private sector, research and other UN-organisations, amongst others, which is unique in the UN system and of increasing its ability to promote policies that reduce food insecurity. The reformed CFS is the most inclusive international and intergovernmental platform for all stakeholders to work together in a coordinated way to ensure food security and nutrition for all. The CFS is made up of the following units: the CFS Bureau and Advisory Group, the Plenary, the High Level Panel of Experts (HLPE) and a secretariat. 

As an active CFS member, Switzerland has been a member of the CFS Bureau, the executive body, since October 2011. Within this framework, Switzerland contributes to the funding of specific work streams and the HLPE. This group of experts provides the CFS with detailed analyses and recommendations regarding political measures with regard to nutrition and food security. Switzerland has led the elaboration of principles for responsible investment in the agricultural sector (Principles for Responsible Investment in Agriculture and Food System, RAI). The RAI principles should promote investments in agriculture and food systems, and provides a framework for these investments to contribute to the improvement of food security, nutrition and the living conditions of local populations, while preserving the environment.

Switzerland and CFS

The Committee on World Food Security (CFS) was established in 1974 and reformed in 2009 as the foremost inclusive international and intergovernmental platform for all stakeholders to work together to ensure food security and nutrition for all.

Switzerland and IFAD

Switzerland is a founder member of the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD). As of 2014, the Fund has 173 Member States. IFAD is a specialized United Nations Agency that was established as an international financial institution in 1977.

Switzerland and FAO

Since 1946 Switzerland cooperates with The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), which is a specialized United Nations Agency founded in 1945. As a FAO member Switzerland takes actively part in different FAO foras, contributing and supporting activities and projects of special interest for our country.

Switzerland and WFP

The World Food Programme (WFP) was founded in 1961 as the food aid agency of the UN system by the UN General Assembly and the FAO Conference. Among all UN humanitarian agencies, WFP receives the biggest share of Swiss Humanitarian Aid contributions.