Sustainability is key for the 5th edition of the Sino-Swiss Business Awards

Cette page n’est pas disponible en français. Veuillez choisir une langue ci-dessous:

Press releases, 21.10.2021

The biannual Sino-Swiss Business Awards announced this year’s winners of eight categories at an exclusive gala evening attended by political and business dignitaries including Ambassador of Switzerland to China H.E. Bernardino Regazzoni at the China World Summit Wing on Thursday.

Winners of 2021 Sino-Swiss Business Awards
Winners of 2021 Sino-Swiss Business Awards ©Swisscham

After four successful editions in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019, this is the fifth edition of the Sino-Swiss Business Awards in Beijing. In different categories, the Awards celebrated the efforts of many Swiss and Chinese companies, particularly for their leadership, transparency, and commitment to sustainable business practices. Companies also showcased distinct results and high level of dedication to the Sino-Swiss business community, Swiss foreign trade and the promotion of Switzerland in China and vice-versa.

This year more than 55 Swiss and Chinese companies competed for awards in eight categories, with more than 80 applications received. Aligning with this year’s key focus on sustainability, STOR-H, with their efforts in promoting clean energy and enabling zero CO2 mobility, won the Swissnex Award for the Most Innovative Start-up.

The four winners of the sustainable awards were the biggest surprises of the night. Buhler won the Award of Sustainable High-Tech and Financial Solutions with its innovation for a better world; by taking actions along the whole value chain Nestlé was the winner in the category of Sustainable Production and Supply Chain; the manufacturer of mountain spring beer Brauerei Locher AG received the Nestlé award for Health and Environmental Responsibility, while the Swiss engineering giant ABB received the Award for Social Responsibility, Diversity and Education.

Producing innovative Biomaterials for regeneration of bone, soft-tissue and cartilage, Geistlich Pharma won, once again, the Nestlé award in the category of Outstanding Achievements of an SME (Small and Medium-sized Enterprises), while Shanghai Roche Pharmaceuticals received again the Swiss Re award of Outstanding Achievements of an MNC (Multinational Corporation).

The final star of the night was the Award in the category of Best Chinese Innovator/Investor, which went to China Nobleness for its global cross-cultural education exchanges combining art and education.

The Vice-President of SwissCham Beijing, ZZ Zhang, opened the ceremony with a congratulatory remark to all those companies that engage in sustainable business practices and applauded those enterprises that succeeded during challenging times created by the global pandemic of last year: “Your flexibility and determination have kept the wheels turning during these unprecedented times, and for this you are the champions!”

“With their Chinese partners, Swiss companies’ expertise in climate change, water management, green finance and financial resilience can help to live up to the engagements of the Paris Agreement and to fulfil the Sustainable Development Goals. The solutions developed are what we celebrate here today,” said Swiss Ambassador Bernardino Regazzoni in his opening remarks.

Around 450 distinguished guests including top political and business representatives from both Switzerland and China gathered on Thursday evening’s event. Among the guests were Rashid Qureshi, CEO of Nestlé Greater China Region, Cornelia Camenzind, Swiss Consul General in Chengdu and Chang-hee Lee, Director of ILO.

The event was organised by the Swiss Chamber of Commerce (SwissCham) in China in collaboration with the Embassy of Switzerland in China, Swissnex in China and the Swiss Business Hub.

Each company application was judged and evaluated by an independent Jury consisting of eleven impartial representatives including Swiss and Chinese leaders, specialists in the field of sustainability, education and investment, as well as SwissCham’s Directors. The jury selected the final winners of each award category.