Summer festivals and customs

Swiss summertime features the Swiss national holiday and the Federal Day of Thanksgiving, Repentance and Prayer. The cattle is brought up to the alpine pastures or back down to the valley with festive alpine cattle ascents or descents. The Federal Yodelling Festival and the Federal Swiss Wrestling and Alpine Festival are held every three years, each time at a different location.

Two wrestlers competing in Sägemehl.
At the Federal Swiss Wrestling and Yodelling Festival, the best wrestler in Switzerland emerges, and is crowned the wrestling king. © Pixabay

Switzerland's national holiday – the 1st of August

Switzerland's national holiday, on the 1st of August, is one of the few holidays celebrated throughout the country. When the night falls, people everywhere light bonfires and set off fireworks. In some places, children parade through the streets with lanterns bearing the Swiss cross and their canton's emblem.

The Federal Day of Thanksgiving, Repentance and Prayer at the end of September

The Federal Day of Thanksgiving, Repentance and Prayer is a religious holiday celebrated throughout Switzerland in Christian churches and in the Jewish community. It falls on the third Sunday of September. All cantons observe it except for Geneva, which celebrates its Day of Prayer beforehand, at the start of September.

Alpine cattle ascents and descents

At the beginning of each summer, farmers in the mountains take their cows up to the alpine pastures to let the cattle graze on the lush mountain meadows. At the end of the summer, before the snow comes, they bring the cattle back down to the valley. These alpine cattle ascents and descents are important events in the farmers' calendar, so they wear traditional clothing, decorating it and their animals splendidly with flowers and bells. Alpine cattle ascents and descents always attract a large number of spectators. The ascents and descents on the Engstligenalp in the Bernese Highlands is spectacular, with 500 animals forging their way forward on steep mountain paths.

Federal Yodelling Festival

The Federal Yodelling Festival takes place every three years at the beginning of summer. Around 10,000 yodellers, flag-throwers and alphorn players take part in the three-day festival. The melodic happening attracts thousands of visitors. Its most recent edition was in the city of Basel in 2020.

Federal Swiss Wrestling and Alpine Festival

The Federal Swiss Wrestling and Alpine Festival is held every three years towards the end of the summer in an arena that accommodates 50,000 spectators. With yodelling and folk music in the air, the Swiss wrestling matches determine which wrestler ('schwinger') is to be crowned king. The Festival's most recent edition was in Zug in 2019.

Feste und Bräuche im Sommer

Im Sommer finden unter anderem der Bundesfeiertag und der Eidgenössische Dank-, Buss- und Bettag statt. Mit festlichen Alpaufzügen und Alpabzügen wird das Vieh auf die Alp oder wieder ins Tal gebracht. Alle drei Jahre und an jeweils einem anderen Ort wird das eidgenössische Jodlerfest sowie das eidgenössische Schwing- und Älplerfest durchgeführt.

Zwei Schwinger während dem Kampf im Sägemehl
Am Eidgenössischen Schwing- und Jodelfest wird der beste Schwinger der Schweiz ermittelt, der dann zum Schwingerkönig ernannt wird © Pixabay

Nationalfeiertag am 1. August

Der Nationalfeiertag am 1. August ist eines der wenigen Feste, das im ganzen Land gefeiert wird. Überall werden nach Einbruch der Dunkelheit Höhenfeuer angezündet und Feuerwerk abgebrannt. Mancherorts ziehen Kinder mit Lampions mit dem Schweizer Kreuz und ihrem Kantonswappen durch die Strassen.

Eidgenössischer Dank-, Buss- und Bettag Ende September

Der Eidgenössische Dank-, Buss- und Bettag ist in der ganzen Schweiz ein religiöser Feiertag, der in christlichen Kirchen und der Israelitischen Kultusgemeinde gefeiert wird. Er fällt auf den dritten Sonntag im September. Gefeiert wird er in allen Kantonen mit Ausnahme Genfs, der seinen Bettag bereits Anfang September feiert.

Alpaufzug und -abzug

Zu Beginn jeden Sommers bringen die Bauern in den Berggebieten ihre Kühe auf die Alp, um das Vieh auf den saftigen Bergwiesen weiden zu lassen. Am Ende des Sommers, bevor der Schnee kommt, geht es wieder ins Tal. Dieser Alpaufzug, beziehungsweise Alpabzug, ist ein wichtiges Ereignis im Kalender der Bergbauern. Sie schmücken sich und ihre Tiere prächtig deshalb heraus mit Blumen und Schellen. Alpaufzüge- und -abzüge locken immer zahlreiche Zuschauer an. Spektakulär ist der Auf-, beziehungsweise Abzug auf die Engstligenalp im Berner Oberland, bei dem 500 Tiere über steile Bergpfade steigen.

Eidgenössisches Jodlerfest

Das Eidgenössische Jodlerfest findet alle drei Jahre Anfang Sommer statt. Rund 10’000 Jodler, Fahnenschwinger und Alphornbläser wirken am dreitägigen Fest mit. Der musikalische Anlass zieht Tausende Besucher an. Das letzte Fest fand 2020 in der Stadt Basel statt.

Eidgenössisches Schwing- und Älplerfest

Das Eidgenössische Schwing- und Älplerfest wird alle drei Jahre gegen Ende des Sommers in einer Arena für 50’000 Besucherinnen und Besucher durchgeführt. Umrahmt von Jodel und Volksmusik wird der Schwingerkönig ermittelt. Das letzte Fest fand 2019 in Zug statt.